435 Main Ave S | Renton, WA 98057 | (425) 687-8585
June 2017

6/23/2017 - Eight Members Selected for 2017 WIAA Hall of Fame Class

6/21/2017 - State Volleyball Tournament to Accommodate Sabbath

6/19/2017 - WIAA Selects Nine for LEAP Class of 2019

6/12/2017 - WIAA Announces Scholastic Cup Champions

6/7/2017 - Spencer Kimbro | June Student Spotlight

6/7/2017 - WIAA Newsletter | June 2017

6/7/2017 - WIAA Names Jenkins JH's Lukas Kubik and Orting MS's Bailey Ferguson as "Give Me 5" Star Students of the Month

6/5/2017 - Hermiston Accepted to Join WIAA

WIAA Selects Nine for LEAP Class of 2019

RENTON, Wash. – Nine incoming juniors from around the state of Washington were recently selected to join the LEAP (Leadership through Education Activities and Personal Development) Committee, the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) announced Monday.

The incoming juniors selected are: 

Brenden Archer - Shadle Park High School
Marte Borgmann - Garfield High School
Kai Burgman - North Thurston High School 
Isabel Chien - The Lakeside School 
Joh'nell Clark - Spanaway Lake High School 
Anson Huang - Renton High School
Brayden Konkle - Burlington-Edison High School
Sydney Rains - Lyle High School
Anayeli Trejo - Bridgeport High School

The LEAP Committee, now in its 11th year, is comprised of 17 juniors and seniors (nine juniors; eight seniors) representing the six WIAA classifications and the nine WIAA districts. Committee members serve as the voice of over 225,000 athletics and activities student participants in the state of Washington. Eight of the nine incoming juniors will represent schools that have never been represented on the Committee. The juniors will serve a two-year term and will join the eight seniors who recently completed their first term during the 2016-17 school year.

Senior Committee members returning to serve their second term are: Jade Chamberlin (Connell High School), Aaron Davenport (Cedarcrest High School), Kathy Le (Foss High School), Tabitha Messineo (Puyallup High School), Lexi Mikkelsen (Lakeside, Nine Mile Falls), Dylan Mooers (Tumwater High School), Ford Powers (Chiawana High School), and Eddie Rojas (Lake Washington High School).
All of the applicants completed an extensive application process.  In addition to an online application, students were required to submit three letters of recommendation, a short essay on why athletics and activities are important, and a video personal statement about their school and why they should be selected.
The Committee will meet five times throughout the school year to go through leadership exercises, have peer discussions, work on group projects, and provide feedback to the Association on various initiatives. The group will also have the opportunity to hear from guest speakers, work State Championship events, and sit in on important WIAA Executive Board subcommittees.
“The WIAA LEAP Committee continues to be an essential program of the Association because of the opportunity it provides to make sure the student voice is heard,” WIAA Executive Director Mike Colbrese said.
Committee members will attend a retreat in August the summer before their senior year. The retreat combines physical outdoor adventures and team building exercises, while evaluating the previous year and providing opportunity for goal-setting for the upcoming year. In addition to attending the six meetings and the retreat, each student is required to write a blog about their school that is highlighted on the WIAA website and social media channels during each year they are on the Committee.
The first LEAP meeting is scheduled for Sunday, September 17, 2017. 

If you would like additional information on any of the LEAP members, please contact Casey Johnson (

LEAP Committee Members  |  Past Committee Members  |  Former LEAP Student Blogs

Sign up for RSS Feed
Washington Interscholastic Activities Association  |   435 Main Ave S   |  Renton, WA 98057  |  (425) 687-8585  |  © 2023